Vegetarian recipes I have liked/ not liked- Genius Hour #4

I wanted to share with you this time some of the vegetarian recipes i have liked and made again and recipes I did not like and will never try again. I have not eaten meat in a month now and I already feel better. I still have cravings for meat though but I have not given into them. I want to see if my body becomes better like in the research I have found. I feel I have more energy and I have not gotten sick (although it has only been a month). To really see the benefits of being a vegetarian I would have to not eat meat for a very long time.

I have found all of my recipes on Pinterest.com. This website has thousands of recipes and i just typed in easy vegetarian meals. So many came up and I sorted through a lot of them to find ones I thought I would like to try. I have really liked a lot of Mexican vegetarian meals. I like spicy food so this gave me an opportunity to really add flavor to the meals. My favorite recipe so far has been the Mexican Quinoa Stuffed Peppers. I have made these before but with ground turkey. I found a new recipe that did not call for meat and tasted pretty much the same. I have eaten these many times. The only down side is when I make this recipe, it makes a lot so I have to make sure my roommates want some too.

Another recipe I have found I really like is Mexican Zucchini Burrito Boats. This is another Mexican dish similar to the recipe above. I have always loved zucchini and will eat it just plain. My mom had given me a bunch of zucchini and I didn’t know what to do with it all. So I looked on Pinterest for vegetarian recipes using zucchini. I also made zucchini pancakes which I love, but are not that healthy for you. I have had zucchini pancakes since I was little. It is a family recipe that has been passed down. I would make them more often,but they require a lot of ingredients that can be expensive if you don’t have on hand.

The recipe I did not like at all was Sesame-Ginger Tofu and Veggie Stir Fry. I had never had tofu before and I don’t think I will ever again. It did not taste good and I did not like the texture of it. It also made my house smell for days after cooking it. My roommates are both vegetarians and they do not like tofu either. I figured I would try it out and see how it was since I was trying to eat vegetarian and tofu was a good way of getting some protein in that I was missing. I think if you like tofu this recipe would be good, but for some one like me who does not like tofu now I would not recommend this.

All in all I have found what I like to eat and what I don’t. With only eating vegetarian meals I eat more fruits and vegetables than I did before. Before I rarely got the amount of fruits and vegetables daily that I needed but now I eat plenty. I have also found good snacks that I have thought of like roasted sweet potatoes. I cut them up into like fries but I just roast them in the oven with some salt and pepper on them and they are very good. I also eat a lot of nuts as snacks too when I don’t feel like eating fruit as my snack.

Leave a Reply

